1. Notification emails are working properly again. Please check your email spam folder and if you see any emails from the Cantina there, make sure to mark them as "Not Spam". This will help a lot to whitelist the emails and to stop them going to spam.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. IMPORTANT! To be able to create new threads and rate posts, you need to have at least 30 posts in The Cantina.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Before posting a new thread, check the list with similar threads that will appear when you start typing the thread's title.
    Dismiss Notice

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga Gets October Release Date

Discussion in 'SWNN News Feed' started by SWNN Probe, May 8, 2020.

  1. SWNN Probe

    SWNN Probe Seeker

    Aug 29, 2016
    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    +11,565 / 19 / -16
    Shortly after receiving some new key art on May the Fourth, the LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga video game has officially been confirmed for an October 20, 2020 release date. The new title in the series is absolutely massive in terms of its scope, containing 45 all-new missions across all 9 movies; the title is also said to feature nearly 500 characters in total, with the majority of them playable.


    IGN was able to uncover the release date of the new LEGO Star Wars game based on a now-hidden video, and it seems like we will be able to play the game around the point when the second season of The Mandalorian will arrive on Disney+. The title itself is set to be the most ambitious one that longtime developer Traveller's Tales has ever partaken in, which is fitting considering the role that LEGO Star Wars brand has had in The LEGO Group's history. Their Star Wars minifigures played a huge role in the expansion of the LEGO toy brand into the merchandise juggernaut that it is today, and the release of the first LEGO Star Wars game in the series back in 2005 set the stage for tons of similar adaptations with brands like Indiana Jones, Harry Potter, Pirates of the CaribbeanThe Lord of the Rings, The Incredibles, Jurassic World, DC Comics, and Marvel Comics. And now, they're returning to the Star Wars universe for their most ambitious title ever.


    Prior to LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga, there was the original game and the sequel The Original Trilogy, both of which were collected in an expanded re-release called The Complete Saga (as it was back in 2007). There was later a game in the series based on the first two seasons of The Clone Wars, followed by The Force Awakens in 2016. This new title, however, will not feature remastered content from any of these games, but instead will completely make everything from the ground up. This change is necessitated by the evolution of the LEGO adaptation video game formula; for instance, while the first few games involved silent characters and visual gags in cutscenes, later titles repurposed dialogue from the movies into the stories. More importantly, the core gameplay style of the series has grown more complex, with more elaborate combat styles than the initial 'mash the button until you win' format, a camera that players are in total control over. The big reason for these changes is that the design philosophy has changed to allow for open-world elements to be utilized.


    For starters, this game is set to have the largest 'hub world' of any LEGO video game, allowing players to fully explore several key planets from all nine movies outside of the context of the main story, so you'll be doing quite a bit of travelling to reach each level rather than walking into a room in a cantina. Based on what's been shown so far in the ads and discussed by the developers, it's been confirmed that players will visit the likes of planets and ships such as the Tantive IV, Tatooine, Death Star I Yavin IV, Hoth, Dagobah, Bespin, Death Star II, Endor, the Vuutun Palaa, Naboo, Coruscant, Kamino, Geonosis, the Invisible Hand, Utapau, Mustafar, Jakku, Ilum/Starkiller Base, Cantonica, the Supremacy, Crait, Exegol, Pasaana, and the Steadfast. Other worlds and ships that are likely to appear in the game - but have not yet been confirmed to be included in playable sequences just yet - include Kashyyyk, the Finalizer, the Eravana, Takodana, D'Qar, Ahch-To, the Raddus, the Sinta Glacier Colony, Ajan Koss, Kijimi, and Kef Bir. Given that this is an open-world game, what's really cool is that you can not only explore larger portions of these worlds in free roam after flying to specific landmarks on the planet, but you can also fly from planet to planet and explore the large ships that are in orbit. There are lots of puzzles in each environment, and even side-quests that will require you to take objects or characters from one location to another.


    Unlike previous games, you are not required to play through the first mission tied to The Phantom Menace before playing content from the other movies, which means that you can start whichever campaign you want and jump between each. But that's not all - each iteration of the Star Wars galaxy, tied to each specific movie, has differences of note depending on the era that you play in. Visit Tatooine at the time of the prequels, for instance, and you may find yourself attacked by a Lucrehulk-Class Battleship, while a Star Destroyer could be lying in wait during the originals or the sequels. Each campaign is composed of a mix of five levels and several scripted events that happen in the hub world; for instance, the first level for The Phantom Menace is not described as being the escape from the Trade Federation ship or the rescue of Jar Jar, but the underwater escape through Naboo's planet core, which has never been playable in a LEGO Star Wars game. Meanwhile, everything else mentioned still happens in the game, just in the wide open sandbox of the Naboo environment and the Trade Federation ship above it. The new missions that are playable will reportedly include more scenarios from the movies that weren't showcased in earlier games, so perhaps there's hope that other memorable sequences like Yoda's duel with Darth Sidious can now be covered.


    It remains to be seen how, if any, non-Skywalker Saga content will be represented in the game, although it seems more likely to be covered as downloadable content than in the base game, which is focused on the movies. Sadly, no gameplay footage has been released as of yet, in spite of hopes that we could have received something on Star Wars Day. The Electronic Entertainment Expo was likely where they were saving a full gameplay reveal, but the physical event has been cancelled; online streaming events for video games are still expected to happen around that time, so there may be hope that they unveil gameplay around then. You can watch the teaser trailers for this game below:



    LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga will release on October 20, 2020 for Microsoft Windows, Nintendo Switch, Xbox One, and PlayStation 4.

    Click HERE to check out and comment on this topic on our main site
    #1 SWNN Probe, May 8, 2020
    Last edited: May 10, 2020

Share This Page