1. Due to the increased amount of spam bots on the forum, we are strengthening our defenses. You may experience a CAPTCHA challenge from time to time.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Notification emails are working properly again. Please check your email spam folder and if you see any emails from the Cantina there, make sure to mark them as "Not Spam". This will help a lot to whitelist the emails and to stop them going to spam.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. IMPORTANT! To be able to create new threads and rate posts, you need to have at least 30 posts in The Cantina.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Before posting a new thread, check the list with similar threads that will appear when you start typing the thread's title.
    Dismiss Notice

Star Wars: The Essential Legends Collection - Fourth Wave of Books Includes Death Troopers and More

Discussion in 'SWNN News Feed' started by SWNN Probe, Dec 4, 2021.

  1. SWNN Probe

    SWNN Probe Seeker

    Aug 29, 2016
    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    +15,332 / 20 / -23
    It's that time again: the next set of books that will release as part of Star Wars: The Essential Legends Collection have been leaked out through the usual source.

    As discovered through Edelweiss, three new Essential Legends Collection books have been confirmed: Darth Maul: Shadow Hunter, Death Troopers, and X-Wing: The Krytos Trap. The current release date for Wave 4 will be on August 2, 2022. These books are reprints of stories from the Star Wars Legends continuity with new cover art. For those of you who came onto Star Wars from about 2015 onwards, Legends is what was once referred to as the Star Wars Expanded Universe, and it comprises material made or actively developed prior to the Disney purchase of Lucasfilm in 2012. In 2014, Disney officially confirmed that they would only consider the first six movies of The Skywalker Saga, alongside The Clone Wars and the various projects tied to The Clone Wars Legacy, canonical, in order to give new storytellers creative freedom on new projects.

    While George Lucas never considered anything other than what he worked on as truly canon, he drew influence from the creations of others for his various projects, with the Republic/Empire's capitol being given the name of Coruscant based on Timothy Zahn's name for it in his books, or Aayla Secura from Star Wars comics published after The Phantom Menace making appearances in Attack of the ClonesThe Clone Wars, and Revenge of the Sith. Likewise, the wealth of Legends content has continued to influence new storytellers, as beloved characters like Grand Admiral Thrawn have been making appearances alongside settings, vehicles, and other ideas first established outside of the first six films and The Clone Wars.

    Check out the links to these findings below:


    For a recap, here is every single one of the books that has been or will be released as a part of The Essential Legends Collection, including the three new additions:
    • The Thrawn Trilogy
      • Heir to the Empire by Timothy Zahn (Wave 1)
      • Dark Force Rising by Timothy Zahn (Wave 2)
      • The Last Command by Timothy Zahn (Wave 2)
    • The Darth Bane Trilogy
      • Darth Bane: Path of Destruction by Drew Karpyshyn (Wave 1)
      • Darth Bane: Rule of Two by Drew Karpyshyn (Wave 2)
      • Darth Bane:  Dynasty of Evil by Drew Karpyshyn (Wave 3)
    • X-Wing Series
      • X-Wing: Rogue Squadron by Michael A. Stackpole (Wave 2)
      • X-Wing: Wedge's Gamble by Michael A. Stackpole (Wave 3)
      • X-Wing: The Krytos Trap by Michael A. Stackpole (Wave 4)
    • Others
      • Shatterpoint by Matthew Stover (Wave 1)
      • Kenobi by John Jackson Miller (Wave 3)
      • Darth Plagueis by James Luceno (Wave 3)
      • Death Troopers by Joe Schreiber (Wave 4)
      • Darth Maul: Shadow Hunter by Michael Reaves (Wave 4)
    Wave 3 and Wave 4 of The Essential Legends Collection will arrive on April 5, 2022 and August 8, 2022, respectively.

    Click HERE to check out and comment on this topic on our main site
    #1 SWNN Probe, Dec 4, 2021
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2022
    • Cool Cool x 1

Share This Page